Senate GOP announces leadership, committee assignments

The release:


Senate Republican Caucus Elects Leadership and Announces Committee Chair Positions for the 2015 Legislative Session


(Las Vegas - NV) – The Senate Republican Caucus today announced the election of Sen. Michael Roberson, R-Henderson, as caucus leader for the 2015 Legislative Session.


Also elected into caucus leadership are: Sen. Ben Kieckhefer, R-Reno, as assistant leader, Sen. James Settlemeyer, R-Gardnerville, and Scott Hammond, R-Las Vegas, as co-whips, and Sen. Joe Hardy, R-Boulder City, as its nominee for President Pro Tempore of the Senate.


“It’s truly an honor to be elected to this position by my Republican colleagues, and I believe we have a strong leadership team in place as we head into the 2015 Legislative Session, which is going to be critical to the future of Nevada,” Roberson said. “I’m very proud of the makeup of our caucus following yesterday’s election, and I’m confident our members’ diverse experience and knowledge base positions us well to work with the Governor and our Democratic colleagues as we move Nevada forward.”


The Senate Republican Caucus also announced the following committee chair and vice chair positions for the 2015 Legislative Session:


·      Committee on Revenue & Economic Development: Sen. Michael Roberson (Chair), Sen. Greg Brower (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Finance: Sen. Ben Kieckhefer (Chair), Sen. Michael Roberson Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Commerce, Labor and Energy: Sen. James Settelmeyer (Chair), Sen. Patricia Farley (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Health and Human Services: Sen. Joe Hardy (Chair), Sen. Ben Kieckhefer (Vice Chair)

·      Judiciary Committee: Sen. Greg Brower (Chair), Sen. Becky Harris (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Transportation: Sen. Scott Hammond (Chair), Sen. Don Gustavson (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Government Affairs: Sen. Pete Goicoechea (Chair), Sen. Joe Hardy (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Natural Resources: Sen. Don Gustavson (Chair), Sen. Pete Goicoechea (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Education: Sen. Becky Harris (Chair), Sen. Scott Hammond (Vice Chair)

·      Committee on Legislative Operations and Elections: Sen. Patricia Farley (Chair), Sen. James Settelmeyer (Vice Chair)